Need some help making a script

Discussion in 'CraftScripts' started by Zanaria, Mar 23, 2014.

1. Zanaria

Zanaria New Member

I have some knowledge of javascript and have programmed in it before, but I was thinking of trying to make a script to solve a little problem I was having with Worldedit. That problem of course was the editing of large areas at a time. I know there is a plugin or two for servers that solve the problem, but unfortunately every solution to the problem I found was for servers and I am just looking for single player.

Anyway I have been letting my programming skills slide a bit lately so I figured I would try this to get some practice. I already have an idea of how it would work, but there are a few things I need to know first. Those would be: How do you make use of the position selected? And how would you make use of Worldedit's set command? And also is there a way to make the process delay before repeating?

Currently thinking of the arguments being the block type (which could be just hard coded for air since I am planning to use it to clear large amounts of land but for usability it can be passed in), the number of blocks to go in, the directions to go in, and how high up and down to go.

Like for example if I wanted to clear a 50x50 area north and east of the selection I would put the arguments in like: 0 50 50 n e

That would clear the area at the level of the selection going over 1 block at a time but if I put in: 0 50 50 n e 10 0 then it would expand the selection 10 up and do the same thing, clearing all the blocks at the level of the selection and 10 above it.

I was looking at the maze script and have a few ideas about it, and I noticed the API for Worldedit as well, but I have always had a little trouble understanding the APIs.

(Note not asking someone to make the script, I am pretty sure I can, though if someone else wants to, or if there is already one like this then feel free to direct me to it. ^.^)
  2. Zanaria